Should I stay or should I go?!

SHOTS GAMES SO FAR

L 1-2 Sat 3 Aug H 3PM AFC Fylde
W1-0 Tue 6 Aug A 7:45 PM Woking
L 1-2 Sat 10 Aug A 3PM Solihull Moors
L 0-1 Tue 13 Aug H 7:45PM Bromley
D 1-1 Sat 17 Aug H 3PM FC Halifax Town
L 0-2 Sat 24 Aug A 5:20PM Torquay United
D 1-1 Mon 26 Aug H 3PM Sutton United
W2-1 Sat 31 Aug A 3PM Ebbsfleet United
L 1-2 Sat 7 Sep H 3PM Barrow
W 2-1 Sat 14 Sep A 3PM Stockport County
L 0-2 Tue 17 Sep A 7:45PM Barnet
W 1-0 Sat 21 Sep H 3PM Wrexham
L 1-3 Tue 24 Sep H 7:45PM Yeovil Town
L 1-2 Sat 28 Sep A 3PM Chesterfield
D 0-0 Sat 5 Oct A 3PM Chorley
W 4-0 Tue 8 Oct H 7:45PM Dover Athletic
L 0-3 Sat 12 Oct H 3PM Hartlepool United
L 0-1 Sat 26 Oct A 3PM Harrogate Town
D 0-0 Tue 29 Oct A 7:45PM Boreham Wood
W 2-0 Sat 2 Nov H 3PM Maidenhead United
L 1-6 Sat 16 Nov A 3PM Dagenham & Redbridge
W 2-1 Sat 23 Nov H 3PM Notts County
D 2-2 Tue 26 Nov A 7:45PM Yeovil Town
D 2-2 Sat 30 Nov H 3PM Chesterfield
L 0-1 Sat 7 Dec A 3PM Barrow
W 2-1 Sat 21 Dec H 3PM Stockport County
D 0-0 Sat 28 Dec H 3PM Barnet
W 3-1 Wed 1 Jan H 3PM Eastleigh

It might not be the worst record, I don’t know but it’s an unenviable situation in which I’ve come away cheesed off more than most.

After today’s win over Eastleigh, a game I decided to eschew to save more cash for the trip to Wales on Saturday, the fact that I went to the Barnet game but missed the Stockport win the game previous sticks out like the proverbial sore thumb.

Someone could do the maths but I expect given this appalling results situ from games I’ve gone to, Shots might well be in the play-offs by now.

HOME

Played  10 WON  2 Drawn  3  LOST  5 GF  12  GA 15

AWAY

Played  6 WON  0 Drawn  1 LOST  5  GF  1  GA  12

OVERALL

Played  16 WON  2 Drawn 4   LOST  10  GF  13  GA  27

SHOTS RECORD FROM GAMES I HAVE MISSED

Played 12 Won 7 Drawn 3 LOST 2

I prefer going to away games more because it’s a day out and sometimes you get to visit grounds you haven’t been to before. But I’ve witnessed just one goal, a Tinkler header at Dagenham, in six outings with five defeats – such a poor return.

Home games have been a little more profitable. Two wins including that terrific Tuesday night versus Dover and slightly over one goal per game.

My attendance record is patchy as I can’t get to some games I would like to. Living eighty miles away, a home game is always like an away game.

So far from being out for sympathy here, my own impression of being a jinx to our team, I am considering staying away for a period to see how things pan out.

However, I was asked at the beginning of the week if I was going to Wrexham and I said yes though this could be stopped… by you! That’s what this poll is for – not just a bit of fun and be as brutal as you like! To out it another way, if this was your attendance vs results record, would you be feeling the same sentiment?

I just want our team to kick on (particularly after today) and move on up the table but this record does suggest that as soon as I return to the seats or terracing, it all goes Pete Tong.

Speaking of music, I’ve chosen these two songs for the YES or NO options. Vote for CARRY ON, WAYWARD SON (Kansas) if you think I should continue going to games or vote DON’T COME AROUND HERE NO MORE (Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers) if it’s a no from you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.